top of page

The Reality of Me


Tears were streaming over my cheeks; I sat cross-legged curling my blistery toes into the golden, warm sand. The horizon stared at me; cyan waves sprinted up to me but before long ran away, repeating the process over and over. Pearly water droplets spray my sand-incrusted feet. However beyond these breathtaking waves was something far more blessed and beautiful; the sunset. Beautiful smudges of coral, lavender, turquoise, and a fiery orange blended together to create a sight so astounding it swept me away from all of my worries.

My last teardrop fell and hit the soft white sand, and a warm feeling of safety and security overwhelmed me as the sun dipped down below the horizon.

Salt water pooled around my knees, calmly assuring. Each bare foot rested upon smooth rocks; rocks too pretty to be left untouched. I bent down, scooping one in cupped hands, careful to keep my sunhat balanced upon my head. The rock pressed my skin like an oceanic kiss and glistened with the light of the sun.

Being thrown around by emotions all the time is like being a tennis ball which is hit back and forth. The tennis ball has done nothing to be tortured. That’s me. Some days my mental health gets to me; but other days I feel like I can be a normal thirteen year old.

The coral is always a carnival, as if those nature-sequinned fish deserved such a vibrant home. It is sort of divine Atlantis conjured from the most innocent of dreams. There is no greater wonderland on Earth than the community of corals and fish. They sing of living in their colours, a sort of visual choir seen by the eyes and heard by the soul.

Whenever I close my eyes I can see the little cuttlefish dance to the song of the sea, I can hear the water swaying beneath their little fins and pebbled scales.

The sea is my spawn point; I love it here and wish I could live as a mermaid beneath the water.

I had thought I was living in a jail cell for so long that I never even checked to see if the walls were solid. I heard screams from other cells and they paralyzed me from even pushing on the door.

When I take myself to the sea, I break free from the prison I am constantly surrounded by from the gulls screaming and water lapping.

I stand and put my hands on the bars. I push with all my might and a after a brief flash of pain the prison cell itself was left behind me on the rocks. After so long crouched in the dark I stood up and let the light warm my skin, my blonde hair flowing in a heavenly wind. On the wet wood was the words "fear" and "guilt."

I throw my head toward the sky with relief. I feel the clouds touching me. I feel like I am floating.

There are many things I care about: nature, my future. Well I want the adults out there to hear me out. You are destroying our future, even though I may not have one. We can keep this world of random poor choices, this world that evolved of goodness and cruelty... or imagine a new one... a fresh start for us all.

We can imagine farming vertically right next to beautiful vertical cities, living in a way that uses less land mass. We can imagine the land re-wilded with forests and animals roaming freely as they did in the past.

We can imagine cooperating and providing for one another, doing what's right for humanity and Earth rather than acting as toddlers who want the biggest and best of everything regardless of the cost to others.

We can imagine being real adults even if we're young... perhaps especially if we're young. We can imagine a peaceful world together where humanity is happy and healthy... because imagining is the first step to making it real... so imagine something new... leave the "box" and keep on going. Start from scratch as creative writers do... how can I save my future? How can we make sure the rest of our lives keeps us healthy and happy?

For once I feel calm, my worries melting into the sand.

I hope the world can hear me. Even if I may not have one to grow up in


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page