top of page

A World of Surrealism

I had never heard the world so silent.

I jolted my head forward, backwards left and right, and yet I couldn’t catch a wisp of anyone else.

The whole pathway felt surreal it was like I had caught myself in an illusory painting , a place where time never ran out, a place where it wasn’t frowned upon to stop and look at the tiny details of everyday, a place where you could stand still and admire things you were to busy to even lay your eyes on before. I stood alone in a once hustled and cramped pathway but now an empty and spacious hallway.

As I gazed up and down the street my eyes flickered upon a row of flowers, bunched up neatly at the edge of the pavement. I tied my jumper around my waste, and strode towards them, I knelt down and waved my hand through their pliable velvety petals attentively I watched my palm sway through their incandescently decorated leaves. I had never taken the time to realize how resplendent they were, to realize how captivating just one lonely cobbled pathway could be.

The mere silence was broken soon enough by a cluster of geese making their way across what felt like a full but deserted land. their blaring calls fell heavily upon the ground reflecting off the towering city edifice … for once their precious calls weren’t taken by the humming human race.

I gaped upwards at the statuesque sky which gazed down at a world full of peace.

It was almost so quiet I could hear a voice whisper softly “at last” but I knew that it would not last forever. One day the harmonious painting would be bought… and carried back out into the blaring streets and hulled across a surrounded city filled with the racing of cars, and the thunderous footsteps of people darting here and there, and the never ending yelling of drunken teenagers pounding off the walls… someday the customary sounds would come to life once more and humans grip on nature would hold on tightly again.

Phoebe Overton Smith – Year 9


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page